Become A Host Bootcamp: Marki Costello meets Pinky Tuscadero

Hello all!  I don’t want anyone to think that I have forgotten about my blog, it’s just been a very busy Easter Weekend with the family, that’s all.  I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend though.  I had a great one, but I’m just extremely tired and ate way too much!  I have been busting my butt at the gym and I feel like I need to go for 3 hours tomorrow just to burn off tonight’s Easter dinner, but who am I kidding, I can’t go to the gym for 3 hours, I’m a mommy to a 15 month old!  Hopefully, I can get in at least an hour tomorrow.

I have no choice, but to go to the gym.  I want to get back on television and have you seen all of these skinny bitches (I’m just kidding about them being bitches, I’ve just always wanted to use that phrase “skinny bitches”)?  Anyhow, it’s an extremely competitive industry and I want to be able to compete.   Therefore, I’m trying to prepare myself for the career I want in so many ways, working out in the gym is just one small element to it all.  How does that expression go?  “Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity.”  Yes, I’m pretty sure that’s the quote…. and I have been preparing my career for a long time and I hope opportunity is right around the corner.

One way I am trying to continue my preparation, so that I can continue to pursue this on-air career of mine is by training in TV Hosting classes.  I took an excellent TV Hosting Bootcamp with Marki Costello who is an extremely well-respected Casting Director and Manager in Hollywood.  This woman knows her shit and she scared the shit out of me at bootcamp as well.  The thing is she’s actually very cool and funny too, but she has an intimidating presence about her and since I have not been on TV for over 2 years and have been in “mommy-mode” practically that whole time, I felt extremely rusty and frightened! (Yes, me frightened!)   I was challenged throughout that entire weekend.

At the end of our bootcamp weekend when Marki called me into the room to read my final copies on camera in front of the green screen, so that she could do my written evaluation, Marki said, “Hey Pinky Tuscadero come in.”  I thought Pinky Tuscadero was from ‘Grease,’ but she is actually from ‘Happy Days,’ but I digress.  Anyhow, she called me ‘Pinky’ because I was wearing a pink, somewhat 50’s style looking dress, and she did not know my actual name, so that’s what she came up with.  All I could think was, “Geeze she hates me,” however, there were probably 40 people in our bootcamp class, so she couldn’t learn everyone’s name in one short weekend, but I was bummed because I had hoped I could stand out so that she would know my name, but I didn’t stand-out because I let my insecurity of not being on-air for so long get the best of me.  This was my fault, not Marki’s.  When I went in for my evaluation, I knew I had to give a strong read if I wanted to be invited to join her on-going classes (yes they are by invitation only).  So I dropped my insecurities at the door and went in and gave the best read I could and you know what, it wasn’t bad. As a matter of fact, it was actually pretty good and it was the first time Marki complimented me throughout the entire weekend.  I was very excited about that and now I will be starting her beginning on-going classes and I am so appreciative to Marki for this amazing opportunity.

Now I can really keep working on honing my on-air skills, and it will be so invaluable to put this on my resume and to also network with big names in the industry.  So hopefully this preparation, meeting this opportunity will bring me the luck I’ve been needing.

So now my next goal is for Marki to learn my name.   I start class tomorrow on Monday, wish me luck!  🙂

2 Comments

  1. Lisa Said:

    Congrats Michelle – you can DO IT! LOL at the Pinky Tuscadero thing – how could you confuse it with Grease? Well I guess thinking about it you could have since Frenchy’s hair turned pink in grease … Anyways … Good luck with the classes – before you know it you’ll be on air on ET or Access or something and I’ll be able to sit back and tell everyone that’s my cousin!!!

    Love to you and the fam

    • Thanks Lisa for all the support! You’re the best cuz ever! Love to all of you too! I know…how in the world did I mix up Frenchy and Pinky, especially cause I love ‘Grease!’ Lol!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post}

Comments are closed.

